Business Valuation Credentials

Our professionals belong to many professional organizations and hold numerous professional certifications. Each organization has its own ethics and recertification requirements. Most of the professional organizations require certified members to have a minimum number of continuing education hours over each recertification period.

As individuals, some of us hold multiple business valuation credentials. See the list below for a brief explanation of the initials you will see after our names.

ABAR – Accredited in Business Appraisal Review
The Institute of Business Appraisers
ABAR holders have completed education which focuses on identification of departures from applicable standards, identification of material errors, and the development of a reasoned conclusion as to whether the appraisal under review is reliable. Course graduates must hold a recognized business valuation credential and must demonstrate their proficiency through both an examination and preparation of a peer-reviewed demonstration report.

ABV – Accredited in Business Valuation
American Institute of Certified Public Accountants
CPAs who pass a rigorous examination on the entire business valuation body of knowledge and who have a history of meaningful participation in valuation projects are awarded the ABV designation.

ASA – Accredited Senior Appraiser
American Society of Appraisers
ASA is granted in a number of disciplines including business valuation, machinery and equipment, art and antiques, and appraisal review. All disciplines require a minimum of five years of full-time appraisal experience or equivalent, completion of four appraisal training modules (or equivalent training), successfully demonstrating proficiency in a peer-reviewed demonstration report completion of ethics training, and passage of an examination on the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice.

CFA – Chartered Financial Analyst
CFA Institute
CFA, an investment professional designation, is awarded to those who successfully complete a graduate-level program that combines a broad-based curriculum of investment principles, including valuation of equity and debt securities as well as derivatives, with professional conduct requirements.

CFE – Certified Fraud Examiner
Association of Certified Fraud Examiners
The CFE credential denotes proven expertise in fraud protection, detection, and deterrence. Current requirements include meeting minimum academic and professional requirements, and passing a rigorous test on the four major disciplines that comprise the fraud examination body of knowledge.

CFFA – Certified Forensic Financial Analyst
National Association of Certified Valuators and Analysts
CFFA is awarded to practitioners who have demonstrated a level of experience and knowledge sufficient to provide competent and professional forensic financial support services. Candidates must satisfy both educational requirements and successfully demonstrate their abilities through a case study or samples of work product.

CPA – Certified Public Accountant
CPA is a license to practice public accounting by each state. CPAs must meet state education and/or experience requirements, and have passed the Uniform Certified Public Accountant Examination.

CVA – Certified Valuation Analyst
National Association of Certified Valuators and Analysts
CVA is awarded to individuals who have completed business valuation training and successfully completed rigorous testing. The testing requirement includes completing a peer-reviewed valuation report case study.